You’re on the New Zealand site
Select a region

Shopify integration by Xero

By Xero
2.99 out of 5 stars
Free 30 day trial available
Get this app
Pricing from
NZD 23.00 per month
Connect your Shopify store to your Xero account for easy management of your ecommerce business finances.
Rated
3.0
out of 5
Reviewed by
99
Xero users
Try this app
Free 30 day
trial available
Priced from
$23.00
NZD per month

Overview

*Updated with improved sales tax functionality (November 2022)

This integration automatically syncs a daily summary of your Shopify sales transactions with Xero at the end of each day, giving you an accurate view of cash flow and business performance.

Benefits of connecting Xero and Shopify

  • Automate finance admin - daily summaries of Shopify sales orders for each payment gateway are sent to Xero for easy reconciliation
  • More accurate data - reduce manual data entry and get visibility over Shopify payments and PayPal transaction fees
  • Track cash flow in one place - get a complete picture of business performance with Xero’s cash flow and insights tools

Shopify integration by Xero + Xero

Integrating Shopify with Xero significantly reduces time taken to manually move data between your business apps, and helps you reconcile payouts to give you visibility over fees and other costs or discounts.

Features

  • 30 day free trial, no billing details required
  • Automatically syncs daily Shopify sales transactions to Xero
  • Creates a daily summary invoice for preferred payment gateways
  • Shows sales, discounts, shipping costs, refunds, gift card payments, and fees across all invoices
  • Automatically groups Shopify transactions based on tax rate to help you manage your sales tax compliance (November 2022 update)
  • Tracks pending sales from Shopify payments and PayPal by adding a clearing account
  • Transfers processed sales from Shopify payments and PayPal into a nominated bank account for easier reconciliation
  • Imports the previous 90 days of Shopify sales transactions (only available with Xero Standard or Premium plans)

Pricing & packaging

There is a monthly charge to connect your Xero and Shopify accounts in New Zealand ($20 per month exc. GST) in addition to Shopify and Xero monthly subscription charges.

Not supported in Shopify integration by Xero

There are some things this integration doesn’t do. Check with your accountant or bookkeeper if you're unsure whether this integration will meet your needs.

  • Invoices for each Shopify sales transaction
  • Inventory and Cost of Goods Sold management
  • Connection of multiple Shopify stores to a Xero account
  • Shopify stores and Xero accounts with different currencies
  • Automatic tax filing in multiple tax jurisdictions
  • Invoices showing customer (payment) details

Reviews & ratings

3.0 out of 5 stars
99 Reviews

Sort and filter

Rating
Sort

Most recent reviews

KL
Kyle Lobisser
Posted 18 Jun 2024
2 out of 5 stars

Doesn't match Shopify data.

This app doesn't really work. It does pull numbers in, but after a couple months I saw divergence in the reconciled account which I attribute to time zone issues. Because the deposits used by this app aren't the same as the shopify payouts, it's really hard to determine where errors are. It's too bad this doesn't work, and now I know why A2X exists, but I hate having to spend another $30/month on basic functionality that should be provided by either Xero or Shopify.
JB
John Bradbury
Posted 7 May 2024
2 out of 5 stars
Doesn't integrate sales by item
2 people found this review helpful.

Response from Shopify integration by Xero

Hi John, Thanks for sharing your feedback. You are correct, unfortunately our integration does not have the option to bring sales into Xero by item, instead we generate a daily summary invoice for all sales within a 24 hour period. This is noted in our app listing details however we will look at ways to make this clearer. We apologise for any frustration this may have caused. Kind regards, Xero App Store Team
CS
Chris Stackaruk
Posted 11 Mar 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Total Garbage

Amounts don't align with bank feed payouts so can't be reconciled easily. Once deleted, I had to entirely restart my Xero because this app created 100s of "awaiting payment" bills that would take me weeks to delete.
3 people found this review helpful.

Response from Shopify integration by Xero

Hi Chris, Thanks for your feedback. It sounds like there might have been a step missed in the setup process. As we are dealing with daily summary invoices and payouts that can vary in frequency, the integration uses a clearing account to ensure payout amounts match up. We apologise for any confusion and inconvenience this may have caused you. Kind regards, Xero App Store Team

Additional info

Functions

Ecommerce

Industries

Retail

App details

By Xero
Added in 2021

Countries

Australia, Canada, Global, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Ireland, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, United Kingdom, United States

Languages

English

Support

Setup walkthroughContact support

30 day free trial available

Although Xero reviews each app in the Xero App Store, we can’t give any guarantees. It’s up to you to assess the performance, quality and suitability of any app before going ahead.