1. Back to app listing
Payment Evolution
Reviews & ratings
3.8
21 Reviews
5 star
(50%)
4 star
(14%)
3 star
(14%)
2 star
(7%)
1 star
(14%)
AL
Alex Lewis
Posted
After having had our account frozen and put in read-only mode for the last 4 days due to an acute system failure I have to say I regret ever having used Payment Evolution. The system does the job when it's not suffering from infrastructure failure, and I would echo Karen's comments. It's cost-effective but if you have are looking for a reliable system you can depend on my advice would be to consider another system. Updated for the response from Sam: Payment Evolution is a payroll and financial services provider, by the very nature of the industry the company operates in it should have systems that can be brought back online in a short period of time. The fact that your systems do not appear to have this redundancy in place is dismaying. I sincerely hope you do improve your recovery processes in the future and are humbled by this experience. As of writing this post, our account is still in read-only mode, we can't process any payments and our data has not been completely restored.

Response from Payment Evolution

@Alex Lewis Alex - thank you for taking time to post your message here. I'd encourage you to contact our support team (support@paymentevolution.com) for specific issues related to your account. The incident you are referring to is related to a storage subsystem failure which contained some of our client data. Our backup and recovery operations were able to bring clients back online almost immediately (in read-only state and eventually, “full-access”) and we’ve implemented several changes to improve our recovery time in scenarios like this. Regardless, we know that even short period of inaccessibility can cause issues for time-sensitive processes like payroll and vendor payments. Our customer success and sales teams worked with affected clients to ensure that any delays in processing their transactions would not affect their employee and vendor payments. No payments entered into our systems were missed or delayed by this incident. I’m sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. We continue to work hard to mitigate against most disruptive events – and in this case, we’ve learned how to better improve our recovery operations to reduce the impact to you. I know that you have placed tremendous trust in us to process your payments and handle critical functions for your business. We are humbled by the number of clients who graciously understood the situation and trusted us to make things right. We’ll continue to work hard every day to earn that trust and I’m truly thankful for your patience and understanding as we work to resolve the situation for your profile. You can always reach us support@paymentevolution.com or +1 647 776 7600 -sam
SH
Sarah Hopen
Posted
We've been using Payment Evolution in our bookkeeping practice to service our small and medium business owners for several years now and love it! It's clean, easy to use and integrates well with Xero. In addition the Business Payments feature is a bonus for quick easy B2B payments (our clients love that).
SV
Sam Vassa
Posted
@Karen Hallson-Kundel Hi Karen, thank you for your honest feedback. You’ll be happy to know we are currently working on both of these issues for you and all our clients. We are in the process of creating new report options and we would love your feedback on what you want that you don’t have right now. Please email us at support@paymentevolution.com or give us a call at +1-647-776-7600 x2 to let us know what you would like to see in reports. The stat holiday calculation is one of the more challenging things about providing payroll in Canada and this type of calculator is one of our most requested items. The great news is this has been deemed a top development priority for Q1-2 in 2018. I can happily say it is coming! If you have any other suggestions on how we can improve our program we welcome them at any time. Sam Vassa CEO, PaymentEvolution @SamVassa +1 647 776 7600
KK
Karen Kundel
Posted
I use PE for a number of our clients and I don't love it. After years of using it, I still have to search through reports to find what I am looking for. The report names are not descriptive and usually contain only part of the info I am looking for. Plus, they look like they come off a dot matrix printer. Also, it doesn't calculate stat pay automatically? Having to manually calculate it every time is a huge pain and makes it easier to forget. I keep it because it is cost effective and it is has most of the features one would want. Also, the support is pretty good....but if I was starting over again, I would probably choose something else.
DL
Danielle Lovell
Posted
Working with Payment Evolution for my payroll was incredibly frustrating. 2x they paid our employees late, because of a statutory holiday, but did not provide any pre-warning that payroll needed to be submitted and approved early. Customer service hours were limited (and only on east coast time) and response time was very slow. Would never work with them again, if I could help it.

Response from Payment Evolution

@Danielle Lovell HI Danielle, thank you for your candid feedback. We are truly sorry to hear you are unhappy with the service. We strive to provide our clients with awesome customer support (you can always contact us directly support@paymentevolution.com or +1 647 776 7600. To address to your specific issues: 1) We do send notifications every time there is a date change for holidays. Our records indicate that you have not opened these emails since December. Perhaps your email settings have started filtering them out? Please add info@paymentevolution.com to your trusted senders list. We also email only the account that is on your profile. If you wish to add another email address you can let us know at support@paymentevolution.com and we will add that to the list to notify you of any date changes. If you prefer, you can also monitor our Twitter feed (@PayEvo (https://twitter.com/PayEvo)) for notifications as well. Please keep in mind that direct deposit dates change because Canadian banks do not process payments on those dates. We do provide many options in case you miss a date - including expedited processing should the need arise. 2) We appreciate the feedback regarding extended live support hours. While we currently provide live phone support 9am-5pmET Monday through Friday, you can email us anytime or use our help forum (https://help.PaymentEvolution.com (https://help.paymentevolution.com)). Again - thank you for your feedback. We love hearing how we can do better and appreciate you taking the time to post your note. Sam Vassa CEO, PaymentEvolution @SamVassa +1 647 776 7600
SV
Sam Vassa
Posted
Update Nov 28 2016: We have introduced several methods in our Xero integration to reduce the likelihood of hitting the 60 requests/minute limit with the Xero API. If you are still experiencing issues please get in touch with us support@paymentevolution.com or +1-647-776-7600 @ Gurdeep Sangha Gurdeep thank you for your thoughtful comments. I'm disappointed that our team wasn't able to meet your expectations. We take great care and effort to ensure all our clients have an awesome experience with PaymentEvolution. While our team has spent many hours trying to resolve your issue (both on the phone with you and with our partner Xero), the issue stemmed from API limits in Xero. While we have offered a workaround, I understand it's not the most convenient way to get setup on business payments with Xero with our platform. For our other clients - the Xero API limit means that we can't process more than 30-50 open (payable) invoices at once. If you have a large number of payables, the workaround is to (temporarily) reduce the number of payable invoices (bills), process them through PaymentEvolution and move to the next batch. We are working with Xero to address this limit as a longer term solution. While we continue to work with Xero on addressing your scenario, our team is committed to provide you (and all our clients) excellent support when you need it. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for your review Sam Vassa CEO, PaymentEvolution @SamVassa +1 647 776 7600
Although Xero reviews each app in the Xero App Store, we can’t give any guarantees. It’s up to you to assess the performance, quality and suitability of any app before going ahead.